Week ONE is Educación

Well my family, week one down in Educacion!

It is a really nice area here! Well at least in the area Hermana Garcia and I are in…it is nice! …I would prefer not nice. It’s so hard to have lessons during the day here because EVERYONE works and so from about 11 to 6pm it’s hard to find anyone. But in the nights we usually can find people home. 

Hermana Garcia and I get along really well!! She is really quiet, but she is so sweet! We are having fun even though it’s tough to find people here! 

Yesterday we were in a lesson with an investigator his name is Juan Jose Aguirre. He doesn’t want to change religions so we won’t really be visiting him too much but I really learned a big lesson from him. He is about 75 years old or something like that. He doesn’t have a leg, and has no movement from the waist down. He was telling us about his “story” When he was 70 years old he was walking down the street when a big truck and trailer passed by. Something on this truck caught the cables above head and brought down the cable pole. This pole ended up smacking into him and sent him flying across the street. He broke his back, legs, face, and his stomach exploded. He said when he woke up, he was in the hospital and his son told him what had happened. The doctors gave him his options to do something’s with his right legs because it was real bad. He said he didn’t want to deal with doctor visits every year and have to go through pain again and again, so he just told them to cut it off… and so they did. 

The lesson I learned though was what he said after all that. He said that he is happy. He said what happened and that is the plan that God had for him. He said why question the things that happen to us in our lives, why complain. It doesn’t change or help anything. That hit me real deep. I was really sad to leave Tlalpan and all the people I grew to love and the sisters. But its part of this plan. I know leaving an area in a mission is nothing compared to loosing a leg and being able to walk and do things like normal. But that is why it really touched me. This man has such faith and trust in the Lord. I left that lesson crying. I was so touched that he could be so positive and so HAPPY! I love that he chose to be happy and in every day still continues to do so. That is what I am trying to do! CHOOSE HAPPY! There is no better way to do it =)

I love you all so much and am thankful your mine!

Until next Monday,

 

Hermana Stef =)

LOVE YOU FOREVER

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

